2017 Day 216 – Just the Cross

The apostle Paul says in his first letter to the Corinthians that Christ sent him to:

… preach the gospel, and not with words of eloquent wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.  vs. 17

Why do so few people share the gospel? Fear. They are afraid to offend or say the wrong thing.

Paul seems to say here that if he TRIES to say the correct thing – use “eloquent wisdom,” he’ll actually hinder the gospel.

All that he needs to talk about is the cross – and let the truth do the work. Paul goes on to say in chapter 2:

And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified… and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God. 2 Corinthians 2:1-4

Paul preaches only Jesus and His cross, relying on the Spirit’s power to bring the truth home to the heart of his hearers.

When Paul speaks of the Cross, He speaks God’s word, of which God says:

…my word be that goes out from my mouth;
    it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
    and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it. Isaiah 15: 11

So we don’t need eloquent words of wisdom when sharing the Good News. We just need to talk about Jesus and the Cross – and let God’s power do the rest.

Dear Lord: Don’t let me forget this. Please give me an opportunity SOON to talk about the Cross. And, you know that I am super discouraged. SUPER DISCOURAGED. Can you lift me out of the pit, too? Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

