2017 Day 214 – Prayer for Tonight

Turn to me and be gracious to me,
    for I am lonely and afflicted.
The troubles of my heart are enlarged;
    bring me out of my distresses.
Consider my affliction and my trouble,
    and forgive all my sins.  Psalm 25: 16-18

Wow. This is how I felt tonight. Boy, do I need a break, but as a single working executive mom, it’s hard to find one. I had a vacay planned (away from kids) but then felt my youngest needed me home…  So no fun getaway…

Unfortunately, my anxious feelings went out of me today and landed on my eldest daughter. After a while, we both moved beyond the tumult my extreme angst caused, sat down, and wept together.

Boy, do I need freedom from loneliness (just plain tired of bearing stuff by myself), from “afflictions” at home and at work, from troubles of the heart.

Jesus promises rest, that his burden is light, his yoke easy (Matthew 11:20). He says if I pray about my cares with thanksgiving, He’ll give me the peace that passes understanding (Philippians 4:7).

I have preached these truths to others this week. And now I need them both: rest and peace. And, let me tell you, my kids and those with whom I work need them too – because my lack of rest and peace affect EVERYONE around me.

So this is what interests me about these verses from Psalm 25.

The Psalmist prays, “Bring me out of my distresses.” Check!

The Psalmist prays, “Consider my affliction and my troubles.” Check!

Then the Psalmist prays, “and forgive my sins.” What??

What sins? Aren’t I the one whose in distress, overwhelmed with loneliness, affliction and troubles? What’s this about sin??

Don’t know, but perhaps there’s some sin in the way of receiving that rest, that peace. Maybe I’m holding on to some burden, unwilling to hand it over. Maybe I’m not praying about EVERYTHING, and certainly not with thanks.

Who knows? God does. So it’s worth asking Him to point out my sin while I also seek relief. Maybe relief follows repentance. Don’t know, but it’s worth a shot.

Dear Lord: Show me my sin. And give me relief. Amen.

2 thoughts on “2017 Day 214 – Prayer for Tonight

  1. I love that the Psalms are so ‘real’. Their words often echo the struggles we face so vividly. Glad this one was helpful to you today as you brought your emotions before your loving God. And praying for peace and rest for you too.

Leave a Reply

