2017 Day 200 – Be Strong and Courageous

I see this phrase a lot in the Old Testament: “Be strong and courageous.”

In today’s reading, David encourages his son Solomon to build the temple – the House of the Lord:

Be strong and courageous and do it. Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed, for the Lord God, even my God, is with you. He will not leave you or forsake you, until all the work for the service of the house of the Lord is finished.  1 Chronicles 28: 20

The phrase is also used when Moses commissions Joshua in Deuteronomy 31 – and when the Lord repeats the commission in the book of Joshua. It’s used by both Joshua and King Hezekiah (centuries later) to encourage their armies.

And tonight, it encourages me. I need to be strong and courageous in several areas of my life. I have a few decisions that weigh on me.  Like tonight, I think there is something I have to do: just do it!

And what does David tell Solomon? Do not be afraid. Do not be dismayed! He follows with promises to help his son:

  • The Lord – David’s God – is with him
  • God will not leave him or forsake him
  • He will help him finish the entire job

When I go to do something that’s scary, something I believe God wants me to do, but something that makes me want to turn around and run…, I need to remember that God’s right there with me, that He won’t leave my side; He will help me get the job done.

Dear Lord: Help me to remember these truths tonight. Help me to be strong and courageous. Please be right with me. Amen.

5 thoughts on “2017 Day 200 – Be Strong and Courageous

    • I used to spend a lot of time commenting on other blogs and communicating with my commenters but i’ve had a pretty crazy year so haven’t done that this time year. But I noticed you comment occasionally and I couldn’t find your blog. Do you have one?

      • No, I don’t. I have been considering it for three months or so. Biggest thing is what direction God would have me to take. A personal spiritual journey with something to keep me focused and committed (kinda like what you seem to be doing using a one year Bible plan?), Or perhaps something to relate to Christian men specifically (there is not much out there for us). Maybe things of interest to me and how they relate from a Biblical perspective. I have been praying. Sometimes it takes a while for me to hear. Elijah took 40 days to hear God sitting in a cave. With all the noise and distractions these days- whew!

        Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

