2017 Day 198 – Trusting

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
    How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul
    and have sorrow in my heart all the day? …

 I have trusted in your steadfast love;
    my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the Lord,
    because he has dealt bountifully with me. Psalm 13: 1-2, 5-6

I love how this Psalm turns from despair to trust.

The Psalmist wonders if God has forgotten him. He begs God to answer his prayer in vs. 3.  He’s enemies are once more after him (a common theme in the Psalms!).

I haven’t had enemies threatening my life, but I have wondered where God was during rough patches, when I felt such sorrow, when I felt cynical about life.

Then the Psalmist does a U-turn in the last verse. He remembers God’s bountiful provision in the past.  So he knows he can trust in God’s love – and that one day he will rejoice that God has saved him from his enemies. And he’ll sing in praise to God.

During my rough times, I don’t always work to remember God’s past good provision in my life. I can tend to stay in the bad place.

But the best thing I’ve done is to remember the Cross. When I remember what Jesus did for me (because of me) on the Cross, I recall his greatest gift, his greatest bounty.

I know that he will always do what’s best for me and will provide whatever salvation I need. Maybe circumstances won’t change, but I can know in my dark moments His great love for me and that no matter what comes, He sends it with love and for love. And that he is really there for me, even if I don’t sense his presence.

And I’ll rejoice.

Dear Lord: Thank you for the bounty you gave in Your Son. And thank you the Cross proves you will never go away and always hear, even if it doesn’t feel like it. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

