2017 Day 191 – A Sticky Friend

A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. Proverbs 18:24

I don’t have access to the Internet so I’m doing this on my cell phone!

When my kids were little they sang a Steve Green song about a friend who sticks closer than a brother – taken from this Proverb. That is a “sticky” friend!
I’ve been really blessed to have friends who stick as close or closer than sisters. 

I remember reading a book about 15 years ago where the author was bemoaning the lack of fellowship in churches – and all I could think of was how blessed I was to have had so many close friendships over the years. 

I didn’t realize it was a rarity.

I think one of the things that knit the hearts of so many of my friends was that we were part of something bigger than us – we were caught up in the midst of movements of God … and we participated.

We saw God move in big ways – revival kind of ways – in high school and in college, in Russia  and in New York – both places where I lived for time.

We experience what I call the Fellowship of the Gospel – the kind of sticky relationship Paul had with the Philippian church:

I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, because of your partnership [fellowship] in the gospel from the first day until now…. It is right for me to feel this way about you all, because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel. For God is my witness, how I yearn for you all with the affection of Christ Jesus.  Philippians 1: 3-5, 7-8

Paul and the Philippines were tight because they worked together to share the gospel. And I think that’s how my closer-sticking-than-a-brother relationships developed – in the Fellowship of the Gospel.

So you want true friends? You want sticky friends? Get together and tell people about Jesus!

Dear Lord: thank you so much for my sticky friends and for giving us the amazing privilege of telling other people the Gospel – and watching you transform lives before our very eyes. Amen.

Leave a Reply

