2017 Day 183 – Halfway There!

Somewhere between the last post and this, I got 1/2 way through a year of Bible blogging!! Yay!! And I’ve got a good Proverb for you today:

The name of the Lord is a strong tower;
    the righteous man runs into it and is safe.  Proverbs 18:1

This metaphor makes me feel like God will always take care of me.

What’s in God’s name?

The Lord descended in the cloud and stood with him there, and proclaimed the name of the Lord. The Lord passed before him and proclaimed, “The Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin…” Exodus 34: 5-7a

I can take refuge and find safety, in a God like this, a God who is gracious and merciful and patient and loving and faithful and forgiving.

I can take refuge and find safety especially from myself. When I do something unwise or just plain screw up, and especially when I outright sin, God will be my refuge and He will restore me.

He’ll take care of me even when, especially when, I don’t deserve it.

Dear Lord: I need a lot of help right now. I need your wisdom and power and direction. And I am so glad that You are a God of mercy into whose arms I can run and find safety. Thank You. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

