2017 Day 180 – Strong for the Weak

I mentioned the other day that Psalm 145 was one of the praisiest psalms I’d read so far. Then I remembered that the last five psalms were all hymns of praise:

The last five chapters in the book of Psalms (146-150) comprise what might be considered a great “Hallelujah Chorus” to this “Hallel” book — the “book of Israel’s praises,” as the book of Psalms was called by the Israelites.

Each psalm in this five-psalm group both begins and ends with an exclamatory “Praise ye the Lord,” or, in the Hebrew, “Hallelujah!” Source

Psalm 147 extols God for both His concern for the weak and for His strength as creator. The psalmist goes back and forth between praising God for his loving-care of those in need and his superpower revealed in creation.

As creator, God:

  • Numbers and names the stars (vs. 4)
  • Is powerful, with understanding beyond measure (vs. 5)
  • Covers the heaven with clouds, prepares rain, grows grass, feeds the animals (vs. 8)
  • Commands the seasons – give snow and frost and freezing rain. He then melts what’s frozen with the wind He blows. (vs. 18)

And as caregiver of our hearts, the Lord:

  • “…heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.” (vs. 3)
  • “…lifts up the humble” (vs. 6)
  • “…takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love.” (vs. 11)
  • “… blesses your children within you.” (vs. 13b)
  • “… fills you with the finest of the wheat.” (vs. 14b)

Somehow it ministers to me to think that the all-powerful God uses his creator strength to meet the needs of the weakest.

He can do anything, but he chooses to take care of the brokenhearted, the humble, those who fear him, those who hope in him, children, and the hungry.

The Lord is indeed strong for the weak!

This principle reminds me of the time Paul begged God to remove a weakness of his, a “thorn in the flesh.” And this is how God responded.

…he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12: 9-10

Dear Lord: Thank you that you are strong when I am weak, that while you are creator God of the Universe, you care for the weak like me. Your strength ministers to my weakness. For when I am weak, then I am strong. I’ve been feeling weak lately in a number of areas. Thanks for your compensating creator strength. Amen

Leave a Reply

