2017 Day 179 – Don’t be a Fool

A fool takes no pleasure in understanding,
but only in expressing his opinion.  Proverbs 18: 2

This proverb reminds me of another passage:

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger… James 1: 19

I need to remind myself of these passages.

The wise person takes time to listen.

He or she takes it all in, asks questions, tries to understand what the other person is saying and meaning. He or she enjoys trying to understand what the other person desires to communicate.

The wise person doesn’t respond quickly – or in anger.

He or she isn’t always thinking about what to say next, wanting to spread his or her opinion around. The wise person has a thoughtful, slow response, based on having listened well.

Good words for me to remember!

Dear Lord: Help me to be wise and not a fool in my speech. I always need to remember to listen way more than I do and respond way slower (and less) than I do. Help! Thanks! Amen

One thought on “2017 Day 179 – Don’t be a Fool

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 185 – Listen Up! | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

