2017 Day 176 – My Soul Thirsts

I stretch out my hands to you;
    my soul thirsts for you like a parched land. Psalm 143: 6

I looked over today’s readings several times, trying to decide what to blog about.

Should I talk about one of my favorite passages in Acts – the beginnings of the Philippian church, including the conversion of the jailer and his family? (I’ve even visited remnants of the alleged jail in Greece!)

I guess not – because my eye continued returning to verse 6 of Psalm 143. It reminds me of another Psalm:

One thing have I asked of the Lord,
    that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
    and to inquire in his temple. Psalm 27:4

I blogged about that Psalm here.

David (the writer of both Psalms) was so focused on God, so drawn to God, so “in love” with God. No wonder God called David a man after his own heart (Acts 13:22).

I wonder how often I THIRST for God?

When do I thirst to be in the Bible? When do I thirst to pray? When do I thirst for His help? When to I thirst for His direction?

When do I thirst for His approval, His wisdom, His mercy?

When do I thirst to honor Him in all I do? When do I thirst to obey Him in my attitudes, actions, and words?

When do I thirst to tell other people about Him, to share the Gospel?

I don’t thirst for God like I want to nor like I probably should.

How do I increase my thirst? Perhaps by not drinking from other cisterns (see Jeremiah 2: 13). Maybe I look to quench my thirst with the wrong drink and deprive myself of God’s living water (see John 7: 37-38).

Oh, Lord: Create in my a greater thirst for You – and then satisfy it. Because only You can truly satisfy. Amen.

Leave a Reply

