2017 Day 169 – God’s Voice

Elijah destroyed the prophets of Baal and is now running from Jezebel. He’s in a cave and the “word of the Lord” comes to him.

Elijah complains to this person about the fact that he’s been “jealous for the Lord, the God of hosts,” but now Jezebel and company “seek my life.” (vs. 9-10). 

The word of the Lord then tells Elijah:

“Go out and stand on the mount before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper. 1 Kings 9:11-12

I love that God communicates with us in so many ways, principally through His Word, the Bible, but also in various ways. I’ve had some very clear guidance from God through a strong sense of His direction, coupled with wise counsel, and always in line with Scripture.

What I love here is that God doesn’t speak to Elijah through the wind, the earthquake, or the fire.

No. God speaks through “the sound of a low whisper.”

Often times, I hear that whisper as I read the Bible. Sometimes it’s through a friend’s comment. Sometimes circumstances guide me.

But normally it’s that sense in my soul that all is well, that I am walking where He wants me. When I stray, the voice gets louder, more urgent, but it’s still the low whisper of God in my soul.

Something I’ve gotten used to over my lifetime – and something I’m still learning to hear better.

Please know that I don’t believe that voice ever contradicts or adds to Scripture. It’s God simply meeting me in my spirit and reminding me of his easy yoke.

Thank God that he knows how to whisper so that I can hear Him.

Dear Lord: Thank You for that low whisper that’s guided me for over 40 years. Teach me to hear it better. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

