2017 Day 166 – Pleasant Unity

Behold, how good and pleasant it is
    when brothers dwell in unity!
It is like the precious oil on the head,
    running down on the beard,
on the beard of Aaron,
    running down on the collar of his robes!  Psalm 133: 1

I remember a friend of mine reading this passage during a women’s Sunday School class more than 22 years ago in New York City.

She had us close our eyes and imagine the precious oil running down our faces. I’ll never forget that exercise as we “felt” the luxurious and lightly scented holy oil – a metaphor for deep unity between believers who have been set apart, consecrated for God’s use by his oil.

Jesus taught the disciples that their unity revealed they were set apart as His followers: “By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13: 35).

The same night that Jesus taught the disciples about unity, he prayed about it -and for us as well: 

I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.  John 17: 20-21

We are set apart to show the world who Jesus is and to help them believe – and we do that through our love for one another, through our one-ness, through our unity.

Sadly, my friend eventually walked away from the Lord, her husband, and her faith. We no longer have that unity, but by God’s grace, I am so blessed to have many amazing friends who share my love for Jesus and with whom I have deep fellowship.

I wonder if one day the way we love one another will help someone discover Jesus and enter into a relationship with Him by faith.

That would be neat. And it’s what Jesus promised!

Dear Lord: Thank you for your prayer that we be unified. Keep the people I work with and those with whom I go to church unified. So that many will turn to You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

