2017 Day 164 – Calm and Quiet

O Lord, my heart is not lifted up;
    my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
    too great and too marvelous for me.
But I have calmed and quieted my soul,
    like a weaned child with its mother;
    like a weaned child is my soul within me.

O Israel, hope in the Lord
    from this time forth and forevermore. Psalm 131

I have a lot on my mind. Didn’t sleep well last night. Things at work and in life. When I don’t sleep well, even if I’m not aware of worry, I wonder if I’m taking on something I shouldn’t. I blogged here about the need to trust God and sleep. Now maybe I need to return to the subject!

Psalm 131 reminds me again not to worry about things I don’t need to worry about. Like tomorrow. Like the day after. Matthew 6:34 is a good reminder:

Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.  (The Message)

I don’t find myself worrying too much about problems that aren’t mine to solve, but I do find myself worrying about the future that I can’t affect and about details that are simply unimportant and decisions I have to make that impact lives.

In a sense I’m worrying about things too great.

I can’t affect every single detail to work out the way I want – only God can. And I can’t change tomorrow or the day after.  And I’m not responsible for other people’s lives.

What a contrast instead to simply hope in the Lord, trust Him with the details and the tomorrows and the decisions.

And when I do, I’ll relax, like the weaned child. I’ll be calm and quiet before uncertainty. My soul will rest in God’s good, loving, merciful control of all decisions, details, and tomorrows.

Dear Lord: Help my soul to relax tonight like a weaned child with its mother. Give me calm, quiet, and sleep. Thank You that I can hope in You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

