2017 Day 161 – Slow to Anger

Whoever is slow to anger is better than the mighty,
    and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city. Proverbs 16: 32

I got unreasonably angry about something at work on Friday. And I got unreasonably angry with my daughter last week (I blogged about it here).

I’ve done that before. Gotten angry very quickly. In fact, I am certain, therefore, that this is not the first time I’ve blogged about anger (yes: here and here!).

Sometimes my anger comes so fast that it surprises even me. I am not prepared to reel it in. Often as soon as the anger is expressed, I feel better – but sometimes I leave people flattened in my wake – like my daughter last week.

The Proverb gives a hint about how to address quick anger. It seems that perhaps the key to being “slow to anger” may be to “rule the spirit.”

But what does it mean to rule the spirit? Does it mean self-control? Again, sometimes the anger pops up so quickly, it feels like there’s no time for control.

Apparently it’s pretty hard to control one’s anger, rule one’s spirit – because if you can do it, you’re “better than the mighty.”

Well, in an earlier blog  post, I pledged to pray for revival and opportunities to share the Gospel.  And the other day, I decided to pray daily for wisdom and understanding.

Maybe the wisdom I seek will help me find better ways to control that instant anger. I think that if I can be more aware of the stress that precedes the outburst, I’ll be in a better position to pull back. And if I turn ALL my anxieties over to Jesus, that will help, too.

Any thoughts, dear readers??  Comments, please!

Dear Lord: I really really want to control my spirit and become slow to anger. I hate that I hurt others in the process. Please give me wisdom and the might to get on top of my anger. Amen.

Leave a Reply

