2017 Day 156 – Messed Up Tonight

I really messed up tonight. I got unreasonably angry at my daughter. She didn’t deserve it. I was stressed for a number of reasons and she inadvertently set me off. So two scriptures from today’s reading helped:

The wise of heart is called discerning,
    and sweetness of speech increases persuasiveness. Proverbs 16: 21

That’s how I SHOULD have acted – with “sweetness of speech.” And it’s a good reminder how to enhance my persuasiveness, both at home and at work.

But I was far from sweet, far from it. So this verse also helped:

Repent therefore, and turn back, that your sins may be blotted out, that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord. Acts 3: 19-20a

Peter is addressing the Jewish people and once more sharing the truth about Jesus. What I love about this passage is that God doesn’t just “blot” out my sins since I turned to Him in faith, but “times of refreshing [will] come from the presence of the Lord.”

Right now, I strongly need to sense that God has blotted out my sin from earlier today. And I also need the refreshing that comes from His presence.

Dear Lord: Please refresh me. Let me sense Your presence. Let me put the sin behind me. And give me great wisdom to avoid such sin in the future. Amen.

2 thoughts on “2017 Day 156 – Messed Up Tonight

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 167 – Forgiveness | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

  2. Pingback: 2017 Day 161 – Slow to Anger | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

