2017 Day 154 – My Helper

I love Psalm 121. What wonderful words:

I lift up my eyes to the hills.
    From where does my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth.
He will not let your foot be moved;

    he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel
    will neither slumber nor sleep. Psalm 121: 1-4

I love the idea of looking up to God for help. When I feel alarmed or ashamed or anxious, I can look up. And the Creator God of the Universe is there to protect me, to keep me steadfast.

And He never sleeps! He’s always there to hold me up, even when I can’t sleep, when I am anxious.

As I read on in the Psalm, I see more. My helper is my keeper, too, who provides protection from all evil – as I go through my everyday life.

So God always looks out for me, even when I’m asleep: surrounding me, shading me, protecting me, keeping me.

Dear Lord: Thank you for your promises, for being my helper and my keeper. Let me look up to you and rest in them! Amen.

Leave a Reply

