2017 Day 148 – Jesus Prays for Us

I love John 17. There is so much to learn about Jesus’ desire for His followers, including me. I thought I’d list some of the things He prays for us:

  • “Holy Father, keep them in your name… that they may be one even as we are one.” vs. 11
  • “… they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves.” vs. 13
  • “… keep them from the evil one [or “from evil”].” vs. 15
  • “Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth.” vs. 17
  • “I ask… also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” vs. 20-21
  • “Father I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.” vs. 24

Let me summarize what these verses seem to say Jesus wants for us:

  • Perseverance in the faith (“keep them”)
  • Unity (two times)
  • Joy
  • Protection from evil
  • Spiritual growth via the Scriptures
  • Unity with one another and the Trinity as a witness to the world
  • Eternity with the Trinity

That sounds like a pretty good list to me. Most of it seems like what I’d want individually as a believer – but Jesus constantly mentions unity in this prayer. So the unity of believers is a huge desire of His – and something we constantly have to work at. And this unity is what will draw seekers to Jesus. That’s pretty convicting!

Dear Lord: Thank you for praying for me. I forget that you continue to intercede. Help me to see the answers to these prayers in my life. Amen

 

 

 

One thought on “2017 Day 148 – Jesus Prays for Us

  1. These are great prayers to pray for others. I’ve prayed these things for people on my prayer list.

Leave a Reply

