2017 Day 142 – Ponder, Not Pour

The heart of the righteous ponders how to answer,
    but the mouth of the wicked pours out evil things.  Proverbs 15: 28

There’s so much in the Bible about right speaking, and I always need to be reminded of this particular principle.

I don’t think I am all that wicked (especially since the Holy Spirit came to abide within), but my mouth does tend to pour out things.

And when it “pours,” there’s a better chance that my words are sinful, if not evil.

I typically pour when I’m anxious or angry.  I sometimes pour when I am processing something, but even then, there’s a chance that something not so helpful might slip in my speech and out of my mouth.

I certainly need to learn to ponder. To wait. To think.

Before I answer.

When I wait and think, and especially when I wait, think, and pray, it’s more likely that my answer will more fully align with what God has in mind. I have the chance to let Him help me answer appropriately.

Dear Lord: Help me to remember to stop and ponder before I answer – instead of pouring out the first thing that comes to mind! Oh, and I need to apply this to both the spoken and the written word!! Amen

One thought on “2017 Day 142 – Ponder, Not Pour

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 185 – Listen Up! | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

