2017 Day 136 – You Will be Free Indeed

What a perfect text I read in today’s John passage!!

Today I sensed God freeing me from some sin patterns. I am always amazed at the grace by which He continues to change me, His adopted daughter:

Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.  John 8: 34-36

Last Saturday I walked around several soccer fields (during a fun day for my daughter’s soccer league), praying and weeping. I saw sin in my life that just wouldn’t let go. It had a chokehold around my neck.

I felt like a slave.

For some reason I was acting like a big jerk in a friendship. I didn’t understand at all why I continued to treat my friend so poorly. I couldn’t figure out how to change. I had tried. I thought things were getting better, but they weren’t.

I WAS a slave to sin.

So these verses came to mind:

If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away…. And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away….  Matthew 5:29-30

As I thought about the sin with its chokehold, I knew I had to cut something off, take drastic measures to fight the sin, to walk in the freedom of obedience. So I decided to walk away from the friendship.

I couldn’t be around this friend and not sin. I didn’t trust myself to be a decent friend at all. I hated my sin enough to give up something precious to me. I’m not the kind of person who likes to suffer loss, but I felt no option.

Drawing closer to Jesus through obedience is more important than any relationship.

Still, letting go was incredibly painful – moreso when my friend agreed that we needed to stop being friends. On top of that, I realized, too, how much pain I had inflicted with my sin. I was sick. I was sad. I mourned.

But today something happened. I can’t even explain it. But I sensed somehow that the Son set his sister free. It’s like I got new glasses and see things clearly for the first time. A weight lifted. Frustration gone. Insecurity vanished.

It feels like God has somehow freed me from the issues that led me to hurt my friend. I believe that today Jesus took off the yoke of sin’s slavery and lovingly reminded me of my yoke to him. I wept dearly about my loss today but sensed His arm around me.

Jesus gets it. He lost far more for me. He lost far more because of me.

He gave up his best friend – the Father – on the Cross because of MY sin!

So no matter what the future holds in this or any other friendship, I know God will continue to make me a better friend to all and draw me closer to His heart. He’s about the business of emancipation from sin.

I am free indeed!

Amen and amen.

Dear Lord: I weep because of Your goodness to me. Because you never stop Your sanctifying work in my heart. Thank You for the sense of freedom I experienced today, for the sense that You have brought me through the fire of conviction to the freedom of repentance.  Praise You! Amen

Leave a Reply

