2017 Day 134 – The Light I Need

…Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8: 12

I took a long walk yesterday, not in darkness, but in light.

During that walk, I talked a lot to God about life, work, kids. I talked about areas where I’m struggling, areas where I can’t quite see the way forward, areas where I need wisdom, areas where I face my sin all too often.

Sometimes I forget that Jesus is the light of the world, the light of LIFE!  I forget that He is the light I need.

As I walked around, I was aware that my wisdom seemed dim, that I couldn’t clearly see the end of my struggles, that I kept tripping on my darkened sin.

I needed light. And it was right there all along!!

How often I’ve addressed issues poorly or stumbled my way forward or continued in a habit of sin…  all because I forgot that Jesus is the light of life. I forgot that I can ask Him to show me where to go, then follow Him as He lights my path.

There was one area in particular where I continued to screw up, continued to say stupid things, continued to wrestle with anxiety. I’d turned most of my other issues over to Jesus to some degree, but I became acutely aware that I had not invited Jesus into this one situation to the extent I should have. I had not begged Him to light the way and help me to follow Him. And I desperately needed His help.

Let me tell you, I asked Him to take over yesterday. He was so gracious. He took His light and shone it into some dark places that I was appalled about, that I needed to confess. And He continues to enlighten me, helping me see the situation with greater clarity, more in line with reality.

Why do I EVER forget to ask Jesus to lead me? To shine His light before me?

I don’t know, but I plan on asking Him for more help going forward!

Dear Lord: You know how long it sometimes take me to seek your guidance. And in this particular case, way too long. Oh, Lord, please keep Your light shining before my eyes so that I turn to Your guidance ever more quickly in the future. Thanks! Amen

Leave a Reply

