2017 Day 130 – Want Satisfaction?

I find it interesting that as I’m reading through the Bible this year, songs from my youth keep popping into my head. As I read John 6:35-36 today, I heard this tune that I recall singing in high school at Young Life club!

Here’s the passage:

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.”

What amazing promises! There’s so much there.

Jesus’ statement here of course reminds me of the Last Supper, the feedings of the 4000 and 5000, the meeting with the woman at the well, the provision of manna and water from the rock, the promise of abundant life.

Never hunger. Never thirst. Always satiated.

This makes me wonder WHY I am ever dissatisfied! Jesus IS my satisfaction, the provider of every spiritual need I’ve ever had or will ever had.  He IS the Holiday at Sea.

He promises that “all the Father gives me WILL come to me, and whoever comes to me I will NEVER cast out.” (John 6: 37).

Jesus will always be there to satisfy my soul.

Always.

I look to Him for blessings, but He IS the blessing!

Last night I almost got sick thinking about something I might lose, something that I thought I NEEDED to satisfy my soul. Bluntly, that’s idolatry. That’s looking for satisfaction apart from Jesus.

Nothing nor nobody can fill me like Jesus. And it’s folly and shame to look elsewhere.

But I do. And here’s why.

Until I see Jesus face to face, I’ll only have Him dimly. I’ll only experience Him through the veil of time, through the shadow of a fallen world. I can’t have all of Jesus yet.

So there will always be a longing in my soul that can’t quite be satisfied. I’ll hunger and thirst a little longer until I can eat and drink fully in paradise. And ALL my longings in this world point ultimately to my desire to be reunited for eternity with my God.

My longings are signposts, not destinations.

But even on this earth, nothing can satisfy like Jesus.

He is the Bread of Life. He is Living Water.

I look elsewhere for satisfaction at my peril (and, by the way, when I do so, I use people…).

Dear Jesus: Oh, please, please  remind me daily that you are my satisfaction, my Bread of my Life, my Living Water. Help me come only to you for the spiritual food that eternally quenches my longings.  And once more forgive my idolatry. Amen.

Leave a Reply

