2017 Day 123 – God So Loved

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.  John 3:16

That’s the first verse of Scripture I ever memorized. I bet that’s true for a LOT of Christians!

God gave His Son.

In the previous verses, John quotes Jesus saying that He descended to earth, where (like Moses’ snake) he was lifted up on the Cross.

I understood when I memorized John 3:16 that belief in Jesus – and His death on my behalf – was the only way I could have a relationship with God

And having a relationship with God forever is the very definition of eternal life (John 17: 3 “this is eternal life, that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.”)

What a great leveler!

Before I first heard the truth set forth in John 3:16, I had the notion that “good girls go to heaven.” But John 3: 16 says there are no good girls – we are all sinners, separated for eternity from God because of our sin.

Therefore, Jesus had to do all the work for all of us: “He lived the life we couldn’t live and He died the death we should have died.” (Tim Keller)

That’s all for tonight!

Dear Lord: Praise You that my friend took me to a Bible study when we were in elementary school where I memorized John 3:16, took it to heart, and received eternal life. Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

