2017 Day 96 – Numbered Hairs

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows. Luke 12: 6-7

What a beautiful scripture passage.

There are 7 billion people in the world. On average, each head sports 100,000 hairs. So there are 700,000 billion (7e13) hairs on all the heads in the world.

And God numbers every single one of them.

What power!

God does not forget a sparrow, so of course, he doesn’t forget us. And he comes so close to us that he can count the hairs on our head.

What intimacy!

What a beautiful passage – to think that the all-powerful God bends down to pay attention to a little sparrow, to pay attention to each of my hairs.

When I’m putting curlers in or brushing out my hair, it’s hard to imagine that God is involved, that God cares. But He does.

He does not forget a single sparrow! He certainly doesn’t forget me! And He pays attention to the most mundane aspects of my life.

Hard to imagine and harder to remember.

But I need to.

When I stand in front of the mirror and tend to my hair, I need to think about how the powerful, transcendent God cares about me, even numbers my hairs. I need to become more aware of His constant presence. I WANT to become more aware of His intimate care.

Just today, I told a friend that I sensed I needed to pray more often, about every little thing, to not act like a functional atheist (as I discussed in my blog here), but to bring God more deliberately into every moment.

I think I’ll start tomorrow when I fix my hair.

Or now.

Dear Lord: Praise You for Your amazing power, that you can watch over every sparrow on the earth and number all 7e13 hairs! And thank You for being my loving, intimate friend and father. Help me to be more aware of your presence and to bring many more moments to you in prayer. Amen.

One thought on “2017 Day 96 – Numbered Hairs

  1. I have often reflected on this scripture and thought, WOW. I love my kids, but would never even begin to try and count the hairs on their heads. How much he cares for us, even in the smallest details.

Leave a Reply

