2017 Day 86 – I’m Sinking!!

Yesterday I was kind of overwhelmed, and God called me to rest (as I blogged here).

Today’s Psalm spoke to me right where I am:

Save me, O God!
I have come into deep waters,
    and the flood sweeps over me.
 I am weary with my crying out;
    my throat is parched.
My eyes grow dim
    with waiting for my God.

But as for me, my prayer is to you, O Lord.
    At an acceptable time, O God,
    in the abundance of your steadfast love answer me in your saving faithfulness.

Answer me, O Lord, for your steadfast love is good;
    according to your abundant mercy, turn to me.
Hide not your face from your servant,
    for I am in distress; make haste to answer me.  Psalm 69: 1-3, 13, 16-17

That’s kind of how I felt yesterday.

I was sinking under a load of ToDos – including the dreaded TAXES – unresolved issues at work, heart cries that wearied me.

Life was likely worse for the Psalmist, but I definitely felt that way.  So, I cried out – and continue to do so.

And sometimes – often – I wait for the Lord. But at the “acceptable time,” He shows up with the insight to tackle the ToDos in the right order, the wisdom to deal with the work issues, the resolution to issues of the heart.

No matter my need, I know that God always answers according to His steadfast love and abundant mercy.

I cry out to Him to hurry up and answer me, provide rescue. I am His child in need.

And it’s alright for me to cry out to Him to see His face NOW, to make haste – that’s what children do when they are frightened. They want their daddy to arrive and comfort them NOW.

God’s now hasn’t always been my now, but He always rescues right when He knows I need it. And I never have to worry that I will sink beneath the swirling waters.

He won’t let me.

The cross proves it.

Dear Lord: I cried out to you just today about a couple of things that weigh me down, that feel like they will take me under. Please turn to me and rescue me. As soon as possible! Amen

Leave a Reply

