2017 Day 83 – More Prayer Lessons from Jesus

A couple of days ago, I wrote about how Jesus got away to a desolate place to pray. If that wasn’t convicting enough, Jesus prayed some more in today’s passage:

In these days he went out to the mountain to pray, and all night he continued in prayer to God. And when day came, he called his disciples and chose from them twelve, whom he named apostles…   Luke 6: 12-13

Jesus prayed ALL NIGHT to God, presumably to decide with His heavenly Father whom to call as apostles.

ALL NIGHT!

We are talking about God in the flesh here, someone who needs a whole, whole, whole lot less insight into such choices than I do. Yet, Jesus spent ALL night seeking God’s wisdom and will as he selected the 12.

I made a decision to take a business trip in July today. And as I spoke with my colleague about the trip, I realized I’d barely prayed about it. To be sure, I sensed God was ok about the trip, that it was a good idea. But I wonder if I spent enough time seeking God’s input, wisdom, direction.

I have SO MANY things on my mind these days at work, at home, in my life in general. I have got to spend more time quietly seeking God’s input.

If it was good enough for Jesus, it should be good enough for me.

Ok. Too convicting.

Dear Lord: Help me find the time and learn to communicate better with you. Amen

Leave a Reply

