2017 Day 80 – The Pig’s Nose Ring

Like a gold ring in a pig’s snout
    is a beautiful woman without discretion.  Proverbs 11:22

I have to tell you, this verse worried me. Forget the beautiful part (that’s not up to me to decide), but I’m concerned about the lacking discretion part.

After all, I don’t want to be compared to a pig. Not good. Not good.

But am I discrete enough? My late husband described me as WYSIWYG – What You See Is What You Get. In other words, I don’t put up a facade. I’m a straight-sh0oter.

More than that (and here’s the problem), I tend to say a bit TOO much. I’ve rarely known a thought that wanted to stay in my head and not pass through my lips. I process out loud. I need to!

So, sometimes I am not discrete. I worry about talking too much as I wrote here and here and here and here.

It is with great relief,  therefore, that I discovered that in this case, discrete doesn’t necessarily mean what I thought it meant, an indiscrete mouth. The ESV Study Bible talks about a “lack of discretion in her character.” And another commentary says:

…a fair woman … without discretion … “has departed from taste”; from a taste of virtue and honour; lost all sense of modesty and chastity; forsaken her husband, and given up herself to the embraces of others. As her beauty is fitly expressed by a “jewel of gold,” which is valuable and desirable, and, rightly placed and used, is ornamental; so she is properly represented by a swine, wallowing in the impurities of lust; to which her beauty was the snare, and whereby it is quickly sullied and lost

from Gill’s Exposition of the Bible 

The ESV Study Bible references Proverbs 31:30 in contrast:

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

Phew. It’s good to know that I am discrete in my character. At least I try to be.

When I was married, it never crossed my mind to look at another man, much less act without discretion. I never felt the slightest temptation to “give myself up to the embraces of others.”

And now, as a single, to the extent I am able, I desire to live a life more focused on pleasing God and reflecting His glory, then flaunting my “beauty” and using my “charm” in an indiscrete way.

I am grateful to God that for whatever reason, I’ve never really been tempted to “wallow in the impurities of lust.” I’m not saying  I’m perfect – far from it – but I’m grateful that God gave me a heart to fear (in the good way) and seek and serve Him.

So, phew, I’m not a pig!!!

Dear Lord: Thank you that I’ve never been tempted to any major character indiscretions. I know what you say about pride goes before a fall, so continue to keep me focused on You than on any desire that might cause me to fall in this regard. Help me always to live in a way that reflects your goodness and glory. Because I don’t want to be a pig with a gold nose ring!! Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

