2017 Day 62 – My Present Help

I recall singing this comforting verse when I was a kid:

“God is my refuge, my refuge and my strength. In trouble. In trouble. A very present help!”

Somehow those words calmed me. God was the place I could take refuge. No matter the trouble, He could help NOW. He was a present help!

I can still hear the old-fashioned tune in my head as I read the opening verses of Psalm 46 (tried to find it on YouTube, but there are a ton of praise songs based on these same verses).

In fact, Psalm 46 brings up a lot of memories and says a lot of great things about how God will take care of us:

  • Because God is a present help, “therefore, we will not give way though the earth gives way.” (vs.2a)
  • “There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God” and the rest of vs 4 bring to mind Revelation 21 – a favorite passage of mine which describes the new Jerusalem.
  • “Chariots of Fire” is in there (vs. 9) though not sure I can make the connection of God destroying chariots as a way to end war with the movie itself – worth some research). But who didn’t like that movie that showed how Eric Liddell gave up a race to worship God? Even Roger Ebert loved the film.
  • And then there’s the perennial favorite, “Be still and know that I am God.” (vs. 10) Why? Because “I will be exalted in the earth.” I can be still because He is God. The exalted one has it all covered. Everything is taken care of. I can gently rest in the palm of his sovereign hand, take refuge under his wings, rely on his strength, and know He is present in all my troubles.

Dear Lord: Thank you for being my refuge, my strength, my very present help. Thank you that I can be still and know that you are God. Help me to be still. Very still as I trust You for every nanosecond and ever circumstance of my life. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

