2017 Day 59 – Prudence Required

I have a pretty important meeting tomorrow. Frankly, I am a bit nervous. It is with someone with whom I have had several past interactions that left both parties hurt and frustrated.

I’m not excited, to say the least.

So today’s Proverb seemed an apt reminder for tomorrow:

When words are many, transgression is not lacking,
    but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.  Proverbs 10:19

Reminds me of another passage:

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger. James 1: 19

The Message puts it this way:

Post this at all the intersections, dear friends: Lead with your ears, follow up with your tongue, and let anger straggle along in the rear.

A friend of mine says, “You have two ears and one mouth. Use proportionately!”

I get the point!! Tomorrow I’ll be prudent. I’ll restrain my lips!

Dear Lord: Help me to listen, listen, listen tomorrow. Help me to shut up! And count to 10 before I answer. Mostly help me to “count others more significant than” me and put their interests above mine. (Philippians 2: 3-4) Help! Thanks! Amen

 

2 thoughts on “2017 Day 59 – Prudence Required

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 161 – Slow to Anger | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

  2. Pingback: 2017 Day 80 – The Pig’s Nose Ring | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

