2017 Day 57 – His Song Is With Me

By day the Lord commands his steadfast love,
    and at night his song is with me,
    a prayer to the God of my life.   Psalm 42: 8

God commands His love towards me during the day.

At night He sings to me, which is a prayer to God.

These phrases sound awesome, but I’m not quite sure what the second one means, so I’ll check another version of the Bible:

But each day the Lord pours his unfailing love upon me,
    and through each night I sing his songs,
    praying to God who gives me life.  Psalm 42: 8 NLT

Then God promises to love me all day,
    sing songs all through the night!
    My life is God’s prayer.  Psalm 42: 8  The Message

Well, it’s not clear if I sing to God His songs or He sings to me. And do these songs become prayers?

I know from Zephaniah 3:17 that God sings over me.

And maybe the Psalmist thinks about God singing over him, then turns that into a prayer.

No matter, this passage comforts because of God’s all-day love, and that I can have prayerful songs at night.

Dear Lord: Maybe I need to get more commentaries up out of my basement so I can better understand your word. But thanks for the comfort of your all-day love and the prayers and songs I can use to focus on you at night. Amen.

Leave a Reply

