2017 Day 55 – What Defiles Me

And [Jesus] said, “What comes out of a person is what defiles him. For from within, out of the heart of man, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, coveting, wickedness, deceit, sensuality, envy, slander, pride, foolishness.” Mark 7:20-22

It’s easy to read this passage and think it has nothing to do with me. I mean – sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery? I don’t think so.

But, that idea of evil coming FROM my heart, to my attitudes and actions IS Biblical. And, the fact, is, some of that list fits.

I definitely have evil thoughts about people from time-to-time (like the driver who’s going too slow for me).

And I certainly covet – more recently those whose pix on Facebook show a complete, intact family (my husband died two years ag0). Envy goes right along with that coveting!

Totally connect with pride, especially when its opposite is humility. A friend defined humility as “not thinking less of yourself, but thinking of yourself less.” So, if pride is the degree to which I think more about me and my needs than about those of my daughters, those with whom I work, or my friends – then I have pride.

As for foolishness? I excel there (as in opening my mouth when I shouldn’t).

And the passage says that all of these traits rise from what’s within my heart. So, when I observe these attitudes in me, I need to dig and learn what lies underneath. And repent.

Dear Lord: Thank you for the fact that you can and you have changed me from the inside out. Help me to take what I see on the outside and learn what you want to show me about my inside… and my heart. So that I can repent and draw closer to you. Amen

Leave a Reply

