2017 Day 54 – The Rest of Jesus

The apostles returned to Jesus [after He sent them out two-by-two for ministry] and told him all that they had done and taught. And he said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” For many were coming and going, and they had no leisure even to eat.   Mark 6: 31

God gives us rest.

It’s all over the Bible, that we need to take time to rest.  And, for sure, we need that day a week to worship and rest. [If you want your seeking friends to learn how God gives rest, check this out.]

So, after the apostles went on the road to minister, Jesus told them to take a rest.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t so easy. The crowds followed and Jesus ended up feeding thousands of people with 5 loaves of bread and 2 fish. After everyone had eaten, Jesus sent his disciples on the way across the lake (presumably to get their delayed rest).

Now it was Jesus’ turn to rest:

…he dismissed the crowd.  And after he had taken leave of them, he went up on the mountain to pray.  Mark 6: 45b-46

So, how did Jesus rest?

He prayed.

He hung out with His heavenly Father and had a chat.

For me, prayer is sometimes work. It’s hard for me to speak heaven’s language. Especially when I’m by myself.

And sometimes I inadvertently rest when I pray…  I fall asleep!!

I often find rest when I read the Bible, however. Listening to God as He speaks to me through His scripture has a soothing effect on my soul. There’s a peace that comes over me as I read.

And when I am with a good friend, simply chatting, I rest. There’s something about spending time with a close, safe friend that feels restful. At home.

I think I need to learn more about finding rest as I pray. Like Jesus did.

Dear Lord: I want to pray like You did in this passage, like when I talk with a comfortable friend. Please help me to draw closer to you so that our conversations become more like hanging out with a trusted friend – and let me find rest there. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

