2017 Day 49 – Desires of Your Heart

I get so tired of people (especially women longing for a man) who use this verse to give themselves and others hope:

Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.             Psalm 27: 4

This promise becomes as a negotiation tool. IF you work really hard to put God first, THEN he will give you what you really want.

Do you see the problem here? If you are putting God “first” to get what you desire, than could it be that what you desire is REALLY first? Are you using God to get the blessings you want?

I don’t know, it always feels like people use this verse to claim that God will fulfill them the way they want. And that just isn’t right.

The way I look at it, God IS the desire of my heart!! When I delight in Him, I will find Him!  And if he chooses to give me more, that’s awesome, but it will always be “less” important to me than Him.

Keep reading the Psalm and the “desires” are somewhat defined in verse 6. If you commit your way to the Lord,

He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.

So if this verse is parallel to the “desire” verse, then the desires of our hearts are to be righteous and just – not exactly the fantastic relationship or good life that most people think when they think “desires of your heart.”

Yet that’s what God desires for us, to be like Him, righteous and just. And, more than that, to count Him as the chief blessing, not to look to Him just for blessings!

I am so grateful that God can and will give me the desire of my heart if that is Him. And by His grace, it is.

Dear Lord: Help me learn to delight in you more and more. I don’t always know what that means or how to do it, but I want to know you more intimately, and THAT is the ultimate desire of my heart. Because you put it there. Amen

2 thoughts on “2017 Day 49 – Desires of Your Heart

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 84 – Placed in a Family | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

  2. Pingback: 2017 Day 66 – He Owns the Cattle | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

