2017 Day 47 – A Leper’s Faith

I love the faith and humility of this leper:

And a leper came to him, imploring him, and kneeling said to him, “If you will, you can make me clean.” Moved with pity, he stretched out his hand and touched him and said to him, “I will; be clean.”  Mark 1: 40-41

People say today if you have enough faith, God will heal you.

Well, look at this guy’s faith. He says to Jesus, “You can make me clean.” That’s faith.

But his faith includes humility. He kneels. And he adds the caveat: “If you will.” He submits to Jesus and gives Him an out.

And I love Jesus’ response. He was moved with pity. He cared for this leper and healed him.

Jesus always pities us in our distress, but He knows if it’s best to remove the pain immediately or to let the distress heal us by helping us grow spiritually.

We would do well to take the posture of the leper, kneeling in submission and letting Jesus decide how best to heal.

Of course, then there’s the after story. For some reason the leper ignores Jesus’ command not to tell anyone about the healing, but that discussion is for another day!

Dear Lord: Help me always to approach you with submission and humility when I ask You to relieve my distress. Or to give me what I desire. Amen.

 

One thought on “2017 Day 47 – A Leper’s Faith

Leave a Reply

