2017 Day 42 – Excuse Me?

Aaron said to them, “Take off the rings…” …The people took off the rings of gold that were on their ears and brought them to Aaron. And he received the gold from their hand and fashioned it with a graving tool and made a golden calf.  Exodus 32: 2a, 3-4

So, that’s what really happened when Aaron let the people talk him into idol worship (while Moses was up on Mt. Sinai visiting with God and receiving the 10 Commandments).

And here’s how Aaron reported the same scenario to Moses after the fact:

“So I said to them, ‘Let any who have gold take it off.’ So they gave it to me, and I threw it into the fire, and out came this calf.”  Exodus 32:21

Excuse me?

Really, Aaron?

I’d say fashioning a golden calf with a graving tool is a BIT DIFFERENT than throwing gold into a fire and having a calf pop out.

Talk about blame-shifting – to a fire, yet!

I’m amazed at some of the stories in the Old Testament. I wonder how Aaron allowed his brother Moses to put this embarrassing account in the record. Yet here it is, Aaron’s outright fabrication to hide his stupidity and sin.

On the other hand, it makes me feel better when I blame-shift. I follow in the footsteps of some of God’s hand-picked leaders!

No wonder we needed the Cross! We could never get our act together well enough to merit God’s favor.

Dear Lord: Aaron’s lie is so obvious. He so clearly wants to move the guilt away. Maybe I’m a bit more subtle when I hesitate to take responsibilty, try to blame others, try to blame circumstances. Help me be more aware. And own my own stuff. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

