2017 Day 36 – The Voice of the Lord

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light.  Genesis 1: 3

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…. All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made.  John 1:1, 3

When I feel overwhelmed, when something BIG is in front of me, I remind myself what God’s voice can do.

He spoke the Universe into existence. The Word. Jesus.

The theme continues in Psalm 29 with the phrase “The voice of the Lord” repeated 7 times.

God’s voice thunders. It’s powerful, majestic. It overwhelms.

It breaks trees, moves mountains, shakes the wilderness.

I  know that God can do anything, but sometimes it’s hard when that voice doesn’t command the change you desire, the dream you dare for.

He can do it with a word, but He doesn’t always work the miracle.

So what then? I think if I follow the start of the Psalm, to worship the Lord (vs. 2), no matter what He does, and if I rest in Him for strength  and peace (vs. 11), I’ll be ok even when He doesn’t speak.

Dear Lord: You know I’m a little sad tonight. And sometimes at work I am overwhelmed by what needs to happen. Both areas of life need your word. But if you chose to be silent, I know that you will do what’s best. Help me to worship You no matter what. And give me strength and peace. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

