2017 Day 33 – Gazing on Beauty

One thing have I asked of the Lord,
    that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
    and to inquire in his temple.  Psalm 27:4

This is one of my favorite passages in the Psalms.

We ask so much of the Lord – success at work, health, friends, other blessings.

But the Psalmist only asks for one thing: “that I may dwell in the house of the Lord… to gave upon the beauty of the Lord.”

God is all that matters to the writer, all he wants. To worship. To pray.

That’s the Holiday at Sea I long for. To know Jesus so deeply that nothing else matters. I know that I won’t know Him completely in this life, but I want to find in Him greater and greater satisfaction while I can.

That’s what Paul meant when he said, “To live is Christ. To die is gain.”

That’s what my late husband Rick gets to do all the time! Dwell. Gaze. Inquire.

Dear Lord: Forgive me when I continue to look for love in all the wrong places, when YOU alone are my ultimate fulfillment. May my desire to draw closer continue to grow and may we increase in intimacy all the days of my life on earth. Amen.

One thought on “2017 Day 33 – Gazing on Beauty

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 176 – My Soul Thirsts | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

