2017 Day 31 – Lonely?

Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted.

The troubles of my heart are enlarged; bring me out of my distresses.

Consider my affliction and my trouble, and forgive all my sins.   Psalm 25:16-18

I’ve had my share of loneliness, especially the nearly 3 years since my husband died.

I mean, after you talk to somebody every day for almost 20 years, you want to go home and be with that adult … and there’s no one there.

Saturday nights are the worst. Just a pit.

So, I’ve done my share of crying out to the Lord in my loneliness and affliction. I’ve asked him to relieve my distress.

What’s really cool, is that he didn’t just help me find friends, he even showed me my sin.

He helped me to repent of giving into the loneliness and helped me take action to rise above it, to think about others – especially my kids, to make friends… and this year, to invest more intentionally in my relationship with Him.

That’s one reason I am blogging every day.

Dear Lord: Thank you for your goodness. Thank you for taking away that intense feeling of loneliness – and doing it in part by showing me my sin and drawing me to Yourself. What peace to know that my sin will never drive you away – that you will always forgive me – because of the Cross. Thank you. Amen.

One thought on “2017 Day 31 – Lonely?

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 105 – My Longing Soul | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

