2017 Day 29 – Little Children

Read a few pretty interesting things today, but I came back to this passage a couple of times. The disciples rebuked some families who brought children to Jesus so He could bless them:

… but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.”  And he laid his hands on them and went away.  Matthew 19:14-15

I was at a meeting of our ministry volunteer leaders today. After I spoke (really, preached), several came up to me, some with tears in their eyes, and thanked me for being so real, so authentic, so transparent. They said I made them feel like I was just like them. (Instead, I presume, of some distant high and mighty ministry leader.)

And why not? Aren’t we all just children inside? Yet we hide our child-ness, our needy-ness, our fears, our vulnerability, our outright honesty. We try to be sophisticated and mature and perfect to the world looking on. What a crock.

Jesus says people like children enter the kingdom. We enter with our needy-ness showing, our need of a savior from our sin, our need of someone who can take over our lives and make sense of them.

And then what happens? We get all self-righteous and try to act the part. Then copy the world and look up to our leaders, put them on a pedestal.

What’s that?

Not what Jesus said later in Matthew 19:30:

But many who are first will be last, and the last first.

So, people, let’s get over ourselves and be real. Jesus knows we’re flawed sinners. He loves us anyway. We know we’re flawed sinners. Certainly our kids know it.

So, why hide our child-ness behind our adult masks and act like we are what we aren’t

Get real. Be a child. Be last.

Dear Lord: Thanks for making me someone people can feel safe with (at least at a distance). Help me to be that always and especially close up. And don’t let me think I am great because I am transparent, either. Amen.

Leave a Reply

