2017 Day 23 -The Good Law

I love the Bible. I’ll never forget the first time it made sense to me. I started reading and couldn’t put it down. I still haven’t.

I even have my high school Living Bible with the check marks for every chapter I read that first year.

I occasionally show my girls the Bible, to their annoyance (a little passive-aggressive pressure to read it themselves…!).

Psalm 19 verse 7-11 from today’s reading includes a list of benefits that Scripture provides:

  • Revives the soul
  • Makes wise the simple
  • Rejoices the heart
  • Enlightens the eyes

I’d say those benefits have been true for me, which is why I’d agree about God’s rules that:

More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.

Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.    Psalm 19: 10-11  KJV*

I really do feel that way.

I often long after the Word as for gold or honey. And it definitely it warns and rewards me.

One of the saddest observations my husband made about the church in America: it’s Biblically illiterate.

Too bad. Really. Too bad.

Dear Lord:  Thank you for your Scriptures, that you chose to reveal who You are through them. Thank you for how they have comforted me, given me wisdom, shown me the way to joy, and guided me. Thank you. Amen.

* I usually quote from the ESV (I am reading through the One Year Bible, ESV version), but I liked the King James here because the words are familiar. I sang this version when I was young.

 

Leave a Reply

