2017 Day 15 – Finding Myself

Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.  Matthew 10:39

Jesus made these cool statements that fly in the face of much of our culture’s messaging:

  • Lose your life to find it.
  • Save your life and you’ll lose it.
  • The meek shall inherit the earth.
  • The Son of Man came to serve.

For Jesus, the way up is down. The way to find yourself is to stop trying to find yourself. The way to lead is to serve.

I have to say, it works.  Even though it’s been a LONG process for me.

It feels like the less I’ve cared about what I accomplish or how I’m viewed, the more I come home to myself, the more I enter the groove.

God has met me in difficult circumstances to help me let go of those things in this world that give me a sense of worth – and helped me find that worth in my relationship with Him.

And in the process, I feel more and more at home in my skin, more like “me.”

As I’ve forgotten me, I’ve found me.

It’s a relaxing, easy place to be. Less striving; more being.

Dear Lord: Praise You for giving your life up to help me find mine. Thank you for the patience by which you nave pealed my fingers off of idols that I used to pump myself up so that I might find in you my true identity. Thank you for serving me so that I could learn to serve others a bit better. Help me to keep moving in the down direction so that I might move closer up to you. Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

