2017 Day 14 – Don’t Be Anxious 

So I’m reading in Matthew 10:16-25 and I’m wondering why everybody gets all freaked out about the “persecution” that we receive as Christians. It’s what we should expect. Read the passage.

And as long as I’m being annoyed, let me point out that a lot of the “persecution” aimed at Christians in America is because some of us – the ones the press reports on, and sometimes even me  – act like idiots. We’re not getting persecuted for our faith; we’re getting persecuted for being stupid.

Besides, we don’t receive anything near the kind of persecution that Christians receive in other parts of the world.

So stop the complaining, people.

On the other hand, some persecution is promised. I’ve been regarded as unintelligent because of my faith. Christianity gets blamed for all sorts of things that it doesn’t deserve. And – really – who likes a religion whose God had to die because the people are so bad?

But – the real lesson for me today is to not be anxious.

I talked about this on Day 8 when I pointed out that God tells us not to worry about tomorrow because tomorrow has enough cares for itself. And I think the same holds true here. Don’t worry:

When they deliver you over [to your persecutors], do not be anxious how you are to speak or what you are to say, for what you are to say will be given to you in that hour. Matthew 10:19

This is the  lesson I am trying to live by.

Stop worrying about tomorrow. Stop worrying even about the next hour, because God’s got it covered.

Live now. Be grateful now. Rejoice now.

And let the next hour, the next day, the next week, the next month, and the next year take care of themselves – they are secure in God’s hands.

Dear Lord: Help me to do this. Help me to live right now and do exactly what I need to do in this moment and give the rest to you. Thanks that you can give me the words when I need when I need them. Thanks that you’ve got it covered.  Amen

Leave a Reply

