2017 Day 7 – Is Anything Too Hard?

I read Genesis 18 today. The LORD appears to Abraham in this chapter to promise him a son. Uh, Abraham is 100 years old. His wife, Sarah, is 90.

Three guys show up in front of Abraham’s tent to tell him about this promise, yet he refers to only one person, “O Lord.” Does that mean that only one of the three was God – or that all three were God? Hm…

Abraham offers to wash their feet and provide a morsel of bread. Sounds familiar? Hm…

But the most HELPFUL part of the passage for me follows God’s announcement that Abraham and Sarah would have a son. Sarah, listening behind a door, laughs out loud at the absurd thought. Then:

The Lord said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, now that I am old?’  Is anything too hard for the Lord? At the appointed time I will return to you, about this time next year, and Sarah shall have a son.”   Genesis 18: 13-14

I love that question, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”

Really? Is there any doubt?

We’re talking about the God who spoke the Universe into existence. The God whose told dead Lazarus, “Come out [of the grave].” The God who lived a perfect life, died a criminal’s death (for us), and rose Himself from the grave.

So, today, I sent an email to the 6 staff who newly report to me. It included the agenda for our meeting next week. The stuff we have to cover overwhelms. We’re going to get through this? We’re going to accomplish what we need in such a short time? I’m going to get done what I need to get done before Monday afternoon so I can lead this meeting?

Really?

Then this morning’s verse came to mind: “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”

NO!! God can do anything. And He WILL do exactly what He wants to do. We WILL get done exactly what we need to get done.

Of course God doesn’t bow to my will and do everything I ask – even though He could since NOTHING is too hard for Him. But the Cross tells me that in all His decisions, He operates from a position of unfathomable love and unsearchable wisdom.

He ALWAYS answers in my best interest, for His own glory, and in accordance with His perfect, yet hidden, eternal plan.

Just like old Sarah became pregnant.

Who’s laughing now??

Dear Lord: Thanks that there is NOTHING you can’t do!! Those words today were wings beneath my sails (sorry to be trite with you, God!). They took the edge off of my anxiety. They calmed my heart. They gave me hope. You rock, Lord. Thanks. Amen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

