Day 365 – It is with Relief and a Hint of Sadness that I Bid Adieu!

I finish my year of blogging my devotions tonight with this, my last post for 2012.

Thank you so much for those of you who actually read a few of these posts. Your comments were an encouragement to keep on. Thanks especially to Marcy and Lyndon who became friends with me during previous blogging years and stayed on to read their fair share of the posts! Cheryl joined us more recently with many kind comments as well.

Thanks especially for your prayers and support. Marcy and Lyndon know what I’ve walked through the past few years and your prayers carried me over, I do believe!

So, I’d like to finish the year off by commenting on each passage I read this morning.

Malachi

Ah, yes, the Italian prophet! Yuk yuk.

And at the very end of the Old Testament, we once more read prophecies pointing to Jesus – and His forerunner John the Baptist:

Then those who feared the LORD spoke with one another. The LORD paid attention and heard them…  “They shall be mine, says the LORD of hosts, in the day when I make up my treasured possession, and I will spare them as a man spares his son who serves him.

“For behold, the day is coming, … for you who fear my name, the sun of righteousness shall rise with healing in its wings. You shall go out leaping like calves from the stall.

“Behold, I will send you Elijah the prophet before the great and awesome day of the LORD comes. (Malachi 3:16a -17 4: 1a, 2, 5 ESV)

Psalm 150

The final song of ascension to the Temple tells us fittingly —

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord!  (Psalm 150:6 ESV)

Proverbs 31

Wow. I could spend a lot of time here. When I was young, I often heard this section of Proverbs used to advance the notion that the highest and best calling of a Christian woman was to stay and home and care for the kids (I’m not saying that’s a bad place to be, either!).

Well, God didn’t exactly have that call in mind for me – and a closer reading shows that the Proverbs 31 woman was a working stiff, too. Yep. She earned her pay (despite the fact that she married a king!). She engaged in the following professions (in addition to caring for hearth, home, and the needy):

  • Importing (vs. 14)
  • Real estate trading (vs. 16)
  • Cloth manufacturing (vs. 19)
  • Retail sales (vs. 24)

Of course, her number one trait?

She fears the Lord! (vs. 30)

Revelation 21-22

Well, I could just put down most of the end of Revelation. I LOVE this section. We had chunks of it read at our wedding – like this first part:

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” (Revelation 21:1-4 ESV)

Oh, how that passage moves me!

Then there’s this!

And the city has no need of sun or moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and its lamp is the Lamb. (Revelation 21:23 ESV)

Beautiful-Nature-River-020

And this – an invitation that we offered through Scripture at our wedding:

The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price. (Revelation 22:17  ESV)

I was thirsty. Jesus never hung up. He just got quiet. I came to Him, in part through this year of blogging.

And He quenched me with His living waters.

The waters were free to me. But not for Him. He purchased them with His life.

The’s no more to add tonight but this:

He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming soon.”
Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!
The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all. Amen. (Revelation 22:20-21 ESV)

Today’s Passages: Malachi, Psalm 150, Proverbs 31: 10-31, Revelation 21-22. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

2 thoughts on “Day 365 – It is with Relief and a Hint of Sadness that I Bid Adieu!

  1. Thanks again for this whole year of posts!

    As a bonus, things that are up here online will remain here, and I suspect that more than a few web wanderers will be directed here by search engines or other links. You just never know how a word of encouragement can change somebody’s entire day, week, month, or even lifetime.

    Happy New Year to you and your family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

