Day 364 – Zechariah’s Prophecies Rule!

I’m liking Zechariah. He points to the Messiah and His kingdom so often. It’s neat that God had his last prophets – the post-exilic crowd – speak so often about Jesus before that 500 year silence until He came on the scene.

I started this blogging commitment to find Jesus – and I find Him in spades here at the end of the Old Testament!

For example, Zechariah quotes the Lord saying:

 “And I will pour out on the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem a spirit of grace and pleas for mercy, so that, when they look on me, on him whom they have pierced, they shall mourn for him, as one mourns for an only child, and weep bitterly over him, as one weeps over a firstborn.

“On that day there shall be a fountain opened for the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem, to cleanse them from sin and uncleanness.” (Zechariah 12:10,13:1 ESV)

After the shepherd dies under God’s judgment, His people will suffer persecution – but the pain will refine them:

 “Awake, O sword, against my shepherd,
against the man who stands next to me,”
declares the LORD of hosts.

“Strike the shepherd, and the sheep will be scattered;
I will turn my hand against the little ones.
And I will … refine them as one refines silver,
and test them as gold is tested.

They will call upon my name,
and I will answer them.
I will say, ‘They are my people’;
and they will say, ‘The LORD is my God.’” (Zechariah 13:7, 9 ESV)

I love that God answers his little ones when they call on Him. What hope for me!!

God’s favor will extend beyond His people Israel, as all nations, all peoples – even those who were enemies of Jerusalem – come to worship the Lord:

Then everyone who survives of all the nations that have come against Jerusalem shall go up year after year to worship the King, the LORD of hosts, and to keep the Feast of Booths. (Zechariah 14:16 ESV)

It’s all right there – plain as day (sort of) – but only clear in hindsight and with the help of New Testament writers who quote these passages as Messianic prophecies!

Jesus, the Alpha and Omega of both eternity and Scripture!

Amen.

Well, join me tomorrow for my LAST BLOG of 2012!!

Today’s Passages: Zechariah 12:10-14:21, Psalm 149:6-9, Proverbs 31: 1-9, Revelation 20:1-15. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

