Day 361 – Even Objects Praise God

As I read Psalm 148 tonight, it struck me that inanimate objects praise God:

Praise him, sun and moon,
praise him, all you shining stars!
Praise him, you highest heavens,
and you waters above the heavens! (Psalm 148:3-4 ESV)

I know this is metaphor, but as I imagine the sun and moon praising God, I sense that they are looking down on us humans with smug astonishment: “Don’t you get it? Don’t you see? God created US? Isn’t it amazing! We praise Him. Why don’t you?”

I say “smug” because it must be so obvious to the created order that a Creator exists and deserves our praise! As the Psalmist continues:

Let them praise the name of the LORD!
For he commanded and they were created.
And he established them forever and ever;
he gave a decree, and it shall not pass away. (Psalm 148:5-6 ESV)

That has always amazed me – that with a word, with a command, with a decree, God created the sun, the moon, the stars — the universe.

He spoke: everything existed.

Is nothing too hard for God?

For that He deserves praise!

Of course, when I think of  what God CAN do, I wonder about the things He doesn’t do – like answer some prayers, help some people mature (thinking of myself, of course), prevent some pain.

And then I remind myself that God is both perfect and perfectly wise.

Another thing to praise Him for —

even when I’m not feeling so praise-ful!

 

Today’s Passages: Zechariah 4:1-6:15, Psalm 148: 1-6, Proverbs 30: 24-28, Revelation 17:1-18. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

