Day 359 – Praise the Lord!

These last few Psalms comprise a cacophony of praise. If my memory serves right, the pilgrims of Israel sang these Psalms as they made their way to the Temple and up its stairs during the great feasts.

Each of the Psalms begins and ends with Praise the Lord. I was going to comment on Psalm 147 yesterday before I read the wonderful Zephaniah passage and wrote about that instead.

So I’d like to share some gems from the first 11 verses of the Psalm.

The LORD builds up Jerusalem;
he gathers the outcasts of Israel.
He heals the brokenhearted
and binds up their wounds.
The LORD lifts up the humble;
he casts the wicked to the ground.
Psalm 147: 2, 3, 6 ESV

I notice again and again that the prophets castigate Israel and Judah for not caring for the outcast, the brokenhearted, the wounded, the humble — the widow and the orphan, the hungry and the sick.

Their lack of justice reveals idolatry. Those who love God care for those in need. Period. Just like God does.

This next part of the Psalm talks about God’s care for His creation – which includes those in need and those in not so need – for we all need food!

He covers the heavens with clouds;
he prepares rain for the earth;
he makes grass grow on the hills.
He gives to the beasts their food,
and to the young ravens that cry. vs. 8-9

And then I like this last part especially. For Jesus, the way up was down, the first were last, the humble were exalted. And this is God’s way:

His delight is not in the strength of the horse,
nor his pleasure in the legs of a man,
but the LORD takes pleasure in those who fear him,
in those who hope in his steadfast love. vs. 10-11

If I fear God, I am in awe of His ability to care for me and I fear looking elsewhere for my needs – I fear calling into question His love and His power.

Which means if I fear God, I will also hope in His love – I will trust that whatever comes my way is borne of the same love that transported Jesus to earth, then to the Cross.

Tough to do all the time.

So, Lord: Help. Amen.

 

Today’s Passages: Haggai 1:1-2:23, Psalm 147: 7-11, Proverbs 30: 20, Revelation 15:1-8. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

