Day 353 – Our Biggest Blessing!

I liked this verse today:

Blessed are the people to whom such blessings fall!
Blessed are the people whose God is the LORD! (Psalm 144:15 ESV)

I don’t really relate to all the blessings described in the preceding verses (full granaries, fertile sheep and cattle), but I’ll take blessed children and no crying in the street.

The point is that the blessings “fall.” They are unmerited. But the biggest blessing of all is that our God is LORD, the Creator God of the Universe.

We aren’t blessed because He blesses. We are blessed because He is our God, our Father, our Lord, our King, our Redeemer, and, one day, our Husband.

He Himself is our blessing!

Amen!

A Note on Prophecy

I know there’s a lot of repetitive history (Kings, Chronicles) in the Old Testament, but I have to tell you, after a while, my eyes glaze over with these Prophets.

It’s the same story over and over again – warnings about sin and its consequences. There’s more than that, for sure – very hopeful prophecies – but there’s a whole lot of that punishment stuff in there.

I wonder why?

I’ll ask God one day. (Meantime, any thoughts? Add them to Comments…)

The more I read the prophets, though, the more I notice that one of the greatest evidences of sin against God is injustice against our fellow man. Hm.

 

Today’s Passages: Micah 1:1-3:12, Psalm 144:9-15, Proverbs 30:10, Revelation 9:1-21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

