Day 350 – Thirst for God? Drink from the Word

I had a chain reaction as I read tonight. One verse reminded me of another which then reminded me of today’s sermon. It started here:

I spread out my hands to you;
I thirst for you like a parched land. Psalm 143: 6 NIV

The thirst for God can be quenched at the fountain of His Word. Amos talked about that tonight:

“Behold, the days are coming,” declares the Lord GOD,
“when I will send a famine on the land—
not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water,
but of hearing the words of the LORD.
… they shall run to and fro, to seek the word of the LORD,
but they shall not find it. (Amos 8:11-12 ESV)

Israel and Judah had repeatedly rejected the Word of the Lord through His prophets, so He took the Word away. Absent any Word from the Lord, the people now felt an acute thirst to hear from God.

But He was silent.

Even when God felt silent to me, I forced myself to stay in His Word. Because it had always led me to Him. It took a few years, but the Word finally satisfied my longing for God again. What relief!

My thirst for God’s Word started something like 40 years ago (egads – that long??). Oh, how I long for our girls to thirst for the Word.

So, here’s the verse our pastor taught on today:

Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation—if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good. (1 Peter 2:2-3 ESV)

In the context of 1 Peter, this pure spiritual milk is the Word. I pray for our girls to thirst for the Word, to long for the pure spiritual milk.

After church, I ran into pastor and told him that I nudged our 14 year old as he repeated the need for for Christians to be in Word so that they can grow up into salvation (even to show we ARE Christians). I told him I want her to long for the Word. He told me that she needs to “taste that the Lord is good.”

Our girls seem to have had little tastes of the Lord’s goodness, occasional experiences of intimacy, of grace. We’ve gone through the Bible several times together (not recently, sigh) but they’ve never taken ownership of having their personal devotions.

Once that hunger struck me in high school, I never stopped reading. Oh, how we want to see that longing in our girls.

So tonight, we opened up our advent calendar verse
and read some of the Christmas story from the Bible, hoping and praying that a taste here and a taste there will lead to a lifetime of thirst.

 

 

Amos 8:1-9:15, Psalm 143: 1-6, Proverbs 30:1-4, Revelation 6:1-17. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

