Day 342 – Of Talking and Blogging

Of Talking.

Haven’t written about a Proverb in a while. Ooh, this one applies:

Do you see people who speak too quickly?
There is more hope for a foolish person than for them. Proverbs 29:20 NCV

Wow. I am in big trouble. Especially when I am excited. Or late.

I speak REALLY quickly. It’s that Northern influence. People often look at me with a blank stare. As in, “What the heck did she just say?” Sort of like when dogs turn their heads to the side if you say “dinner.”

Oh, it doesn’t mean that?

It means speaking too hastily? Speaking before taking the time to think?

Wow. I am in big trouble. Especially when I am excited. Or late.

Whatever is in my mind comes right on out my mouth. Without thinking. And certainly without praying.

I need to work on that. And as I’ve said before, when it comes to words, I can be a fool. A big one.

Before I started this current ministry position – while I was preparing my application – I remember informing God after a particularly brutal foot-in-mouth episode, “There’s no way I can do this job. It’s my mouth. Things come out of it before I think.”

Of course you know how God responded, well what I sense He would have said if I had heard His exact words: “Remember Moses? I took care of his mouth. I’ll take care of yours.”

Not that I’m Moses or anything.

But it sure helps to know that God can protect me from my mouth. And it helps to realize that I sometimes sinfully worry too much about other peoples’ perception of me, of what they’ll think if I say the wrong thing.

Have I spoken hastily since starting the job?

Yep.

But I apologize and move on.  Secure that God can cover my messes. And sometimes a bit insecure about what people think of my hastily ill-spoken words – but I’m working on it!

Of Blogging.

So it’s just 23 more days til I complete my daily devotion blogging commitment. Phew. If you’ve been following since Day 1 (ha!), then you know it’s had a huge impact on my life.

And I can tell you FOR SURE, I am NOT doing this next year.

But I have to do something. I need to make some commitment to get me in Scripture and prayer daily.

Any ideas? Put ’em in comments. The more outrageous the better.

 

Today’s Readings: Hosea 7:3 – 8:14, Psalm 139:7-12, Proverbs 29:20, 2 John 1-13. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

3 thoughts on “Day 342 – Of Talking and Blogging

  1. I can’t believe it’s almost been an entire year already! It really does feel like a journey — something that started at one place and went on a very scenic trip, stopping and seeing so many things along the way. Some were good and enjoyable. Others were very difficult, passing through the most scary and barren parts of the desert.

    I guess I don’t really have any ideas or suggestions on where to go from here. I’ll be interested to hear what you end up deciding to do going forward. You and your family will certainly remain in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

