Day 341 – Crazy Person Mumbling Prayer

I was speaking with a friend the other day who is a prayer warrior. I guess that means she prays all the time about everything.

I am not a prayer warrior. I may be a Bible warrior, holding forth the sword of the Spirit, but I’ve always felt sort of like a C student in the prayer department (and I’ve posted about that several times here).

So when I was speaking with my friend, I told her that my mind is always percolating.  And while I don’t always address my thoughts directly to God as I percolate, I sense He’s listening in.

Maybe this is cheating, but I think in some ways when I talk to myself in my head, I am talking to God.

Wait, that didn’t sound so good! Not that I am God, but that He’s there, too.

Listening.

Does my constant musing count as prayer? I think so. I hope so.

It’s sort of like a slightly crazy person who talks to herself while she is with you, but you get to listen in, so in a sense you are on the receiving end of the conversation.

I mean, I’m the crazy person, not God. He’s the other guy.

Well, Psalm 139 helped me in this subject today. I could say the same to God as David did:

You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.

Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.
(Psalm 139:2, 4 ESV)

I’m sure that when the crazy person turns and directly addresses the other person, there’s a more personal connection.

And I try and remember to stop my rambling thoughts and address God directly.

But it’s good to know He’s listening in, that in fact, He listened in before I even mumbled to myself.

He’s that far ahead of the prayer game.

Pretty cool, huh?

Oh. Amen!

Today’s Readings: Hosea 5:1 – 7:2, Psalm 139:1-6, Proverbs 29:19, 1 John 5:1-21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

4 thoughts on “Day 341 – Crazy Person Mumbling Prayer

  1. I can’t read the text on that bottom image — can you include the link to the bigger version?

    I feel the same way about that continual inward dialogue aimed to him.

Leave a Reply

