Day 326 – Post-Turkey Musings about What God Will Do

All the cousins have settled down after Thanksgiving Dinner and subsequent fun (our 2 girls and my sister’s 2 girls) and I can finally write.

Speaking of one of those girls – my first-born – I just now read the passage we used for her baptism:

I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean from all your uncleannesses, and from all your idols I will cleanse you. And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules. (Ezekiel 36:25-27 ESV)

My husband loves this passage because it’s so clearly about the new life in Christ. What he particularly likes is that our I Am is the one who will!

God says “I Will:

  • Clean you (from your idolatrous treason against me!)
  • Give you a new heart of flesh (having removed the heart of stone)
  • Give you a new spirit (My Spirit!)
  • Cause you to obey Me”

Oh, Lord, let the fruit of my life show the change in my heart and spirit that YOU brought about. Amen.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Today’s Readings: Ezekiel 35:1-36:38, Psalm 131:1-3, Proverbs 29:2-3, James 3:1-18. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

One thought on “Day 326 – Post-Turkey Musings about What God Will Do

Leave a Reply

